Subscribe Now
Trending News

Blog Post

Full List of Nominees for 2023 CAF Awards Revealed

Full List of Nominees for 2023 CAF Awards Revealed 

By Adeke Chukwuka

The Confederation of African Football has unveiled the nominees for the men’s categories of the CAF Awards 2023. The awards ceremony is set to take place on December 11, 2023, in Marrakech, Morocco.

According to a statement released by CAF on Wednesday, the preliminary list was compiled by a panel of CAF Technical Experts, African Football Legends, and selected media representatives from multiple countries. The nominees’ performances between November 2022 and September 2023 were taken into account for the selection process.

Thirty players have been shortlisted for the prestigious CAF African Player of the Year award, with an additional 20 players nominated for the CAF Interclub Player of the Year accolade.

The categories of Coach of the Year, CAF National Team of the Year, and Club of the Year each boast ten nominees, while the CAF Young Player of the Year category is dedicated to players under the age of 21.

In a groundbreaking move, CAF has introduced the CAF African Goalkeeper of the Year category for both men and women in its prestigious awards event, recognizing exceptional players, officials, and administrators during the specified period.

This marks the inaugural acknowledgment of goalkeepers’ performances, broadening the scope of winners for the annual ceremony, with 10 players nominated for this new award.

The winners in each category will be determined through votes from a diverse panel, including members of the CAF Technical Committee, media professionals, head coaches, and captains of member associations and clubs participating in the Interclub competitions’ group stages. CAF stated that nominees for the women’s categories will be revealed in the coming days.

In the previous Awards Gala held in July 2022 in Rabat, Morocco, Senegal forward Sadio Mane clinched the title of CAF African Player of the Year, while Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala was honored as the CAF African Women’s Player of the Year for an unprecedented fifth time.

The list comprising nominees for the CAF African Player of the Year (Men) award has notable names like Victor Osimhen, Riyad Mahrez, Mohamed Salah, and Sadio Mane, among others, representing various countries and clubs, including Liverpool, Arsenal, and Paris Saint-Germain.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *