Subscribe Now
Trending News

Blog Post

Gubernatorial Polls: Voting Commences In Bayelsa, Imo, and Kogi
2023 Election

Gubernatorial Polls: Voting Commences In Bayelsa, Imo, and Kogi 

Bayelsa, Imo and Kogi states have commenced voting for the 2023 governorship elections.

The decision of who becomes the next governor of the three states depends on the electorate as over 5 million voters in Bayelsa, Imo and Kogi states head to the polls, today.

Over 5.1 million registered voters are expected to go through voters accreditation.

This followed the arrival of officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) at polling units with sensitive and non-sensitive materials.

Here’s a run down from some analysts who predict youth will make up 60% of total voters that’ll decide the fate of these states.

In Imo State, INEC gave the figure of the registered voters as 2, 419,922 and Permanent Voter Cards (PVCs) collected as 2,318,919 with youths and the middle age demographic groups having 33% (801K) and 32% (783K).

In Kogi, the total number of registered voters is 1,932,654 and PVCs collected is 1,833,160 with youths taking a lump 44% (850k) and the middle-aged having 32% (341K)

For Bayelsa, the total number of registered voters is 1,056,862 whilst total PVCs collected put at 1,017,613 with youths taking 42% (439K) and the middle-aged having 40% (424K).

Here’s a rundown of the major gubernatorial candidates from Kogi, Bayelsa and Imo states.

In Bayelsa, the major three candidates include the incumbent Governor Douye Diri of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), former governor and the immediate Minister of State for Petroleum, Timipre Sylva of the All Progressives Congress (APC), and Udengmobofa Eradiri of the Labour Party (LP).

The leading candidates jostling for Kogi governorship are Murtala Yakubu Ajaka of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Dino Melaye of the PDP, Ododo Usman Ahmed, APC, and Leke Abejide of African Democratic Congress (ADC).

While in Imo state the major candidates are the incumbent governor, Hope Uzodinma of the APC, Athan Nneji Aconu, LP and Samuel Anyanwu of the PDP.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *