Subscribe Now
Trending News

Blog Post

Narges Mohammadi, Iranian Women’s Rights Activist Wins 2023 Nobel Peace Prize

Narges Mohammadi, Iranian Women’s Rights Activist Wins 2023 Nobel Peace Prize 

The Norwegian Nobel Committee has honoured Iranian human rights activist Narges Mohammadi with the Nobel Peace Prize for 2023. The announcement was conveyed through a press release by the committee on Friday.

Mohammadi was recognised for her courageous efforts in challenging the oppressive policies of the Iranian government, particularly concerning women’s rights in the country.

Narges Mohammadi has been awarded the 2023 Nobel Peace Prize for her courageous fight against the oppression of women in Iran, as well as her advocacy for human rights and freedom. The announcement highlighted her significant personal sacrifices, including 13 arrests, five convictions, and a total sentence of 31 years in prison along with 154 lashes due to her activism.

Narges Mohammadi has faced multiple arrests and imprisonments since 1998, with charges related to her human rights activism. She was initially arrested in 1998, resulting in a year of imprisonment. In 2010, she was detained for her affiliation with the Defenders of Human Rights Centre (DHRC), but was released after a month due to health issues. 

Subsequently, in 2011, she was arrested again, this time for “acting against national security,” leading to an 11-year prison sentence. After her release in 2012, her anti-death penalty activism led to another arrest in 2015, resulting in a ten-year prison term.

Despite these challenges, she continued her activism, criticising the government for alleged sexual abuse and ill-treatment endured by her and fellow prisoners.

In May 2021, Narges Mohammadi was arrested once more, facing multiple charges, including “spreading propaganda against the system.” She was sentenced to two-and-a-half years in prison, 80 lashes, and fines. Despite calls for her release, she has been in prison since then. Currently serving her sentence, she holds the position of vice president at the DHRC, led by fellow Nobel Peace Prize laureate Shirin Ebadi.

The 2023 Nobel Peace Prize, awarded to Narges Mohammadi, is also dedicated to the hundreds of thousands of individuals who protested against the discriminatory and oppressive policies of the theocratic regime in the preceding year, as stated by the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *