Subscribe Now
Trending News

Blog Post

The Complete List Of AFRIFF 2021 Winners

The Complete List Of AFRIFF 2021 Winners 

On November 13 the five-day film festival came to a close with an award ceremony.

By Omotayo Olutekunbi

On Saturday, November 13, 2021, the 10th anniversary of the Africa International Film Festival (AFRIFF) came to a rousing close with its global awards ceremony, which drew an impressive turnout of the industry’s best.

American filmmaker Alanna Brown for her 2021 film ‘Trees of Peace’ about the Rwandan genocide, which won two major awards including ‘Best Feature Film,’ Bisi Adebayo for acclaimed animation ‘Lady Buckit & the Motley MoPsters,’ and Surreal16 Collective’s ‘Juju Stories.’ Olu Jacobs, a revered movie star, was also given a well-deserved Lifetime Achievement Award.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Best feature Film – ‘Trees for Peace’ (Alanna Brown)

Best Actress– Ijeoma Grace Agu ’10 Songs for Charity’

Best Actor – Kelechi Udegbe ‘Collision Course’

Best Director – Michael Omonua, CJ Obasi, Abba T. Makama ‘Juju Stories’

Best Screenplay – Alanna Brown ‘Trees for Peace’

Special Jury Prize for Best Feature – ‘Tainted Canvas’

Lifetime Achievement Award – Olu Jacobs

Oronto Douglas Prize for Best Nigerian Feature – ‘The Griot’ (Adeoluwa Owu)

Best Documentary– In God’s Hand

Audience Choice Award – ‘The Hail Mary’ (Nnamdi Kanaga)

Best Short film – ‘Al-Sit’ (Suzannah Mirghani’)

Best Animation – ‘Lady Buckit & the Motley MoPsters’ (Bisi Adebayo)

DJ Babus Babatunde Bashir-Bello Prize Best Student Shorts – ‘Bride Untangled’ (Ju

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *