Subscribe Now
Trending News

Blog Post

INEC Declares NNPP’s Abba Yusuf Winner Of Kano Governorship Election
2023 Election

INEC Declares NNPP’s Abba Yusuf Winner Of Kano Governorship Election 

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the candidate of the New Nigerian People’s Party (NNPP), Malam Abba Yisuf, as the winner of the March 18 governorship election in Kano State.

News Agency of Nigeria

Announcing the result on Monday in Kano, the state Returning Officer, Prof. Doko Ibrahim, the Vice-Chancellor of the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, said Yusuf polled 1,019,602 votes to clinch the seat.

Ibrahim said that Yusuf defeated his closest rival and incumbent Deputy Governor of the state, Malam Yusuf Gawuna, of the All Progressive Congress (APC), who scored 892,705 votes.

He said: “That I, Prof. Doko Ibrahim, declared that 18 candidates contested the election.

“Having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes, Abba Kabiru Yusuf of the NNPP is at this moment declared the winner and returned elected,” he said.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *