Subscribe Now
Trending News

Blog Post

Dino Melaye Loses The PDP Primary Election In Kogi West
2023 Election

Dino Melaye Loses The PDP Primary Election In Kogi West 

Dino Melaye received 99 votes while Teejay Yusuf received 163 votes.

By Omotayo Olutekunbi

Dino Melaye loses the PDP primary election in Kogi West. The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reported that the poll, which took place on Monday, resulted in a tie since both candidates received 88 votes.

However, in the runoff election on Tuesday, Teejay Yusuf received 163 votes while Dino Melaye received 99 votes, ending Mr Melaye’s goal of returning to the Senate in the 10th National Assembly.

According to NAN, the result was revealed on Tuesday by Engr. Stephen Onoji, the Returning Officer.

Speaking to media shortly after being declared the winner, Mr Yusuf extended an olive branch to his other candidates, urging them to join forces with him to win the general election.

He praised the calm conduct of the primaries and pledged to continue his good work if elected in the general election.

Mr Melaye congratulated Mr Yusuf on his repeat election victory, saying the primary had been fought and won.

Mr Melaye, who served the district as a senator from 2015 to 2019, was defeated in a re-run senate election in 2019 by incumbent Sen. Smart Adeyemi of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Mr Adeyemi is a three-term senator in the National Assembly from the same Ijumu Local Government Area as Mr Melaye.

Mr Adeyemi represented the zone for the PDP from 2007 until 2015, but was defeated by Mr Melaye in 2015.

He eventually flipped to the All Progressives Congress before regaining the seat in 2019 following a repeat election ordered by the Court.

Victor Adoji won the PDP senate seat in Kogi East with 177 votes, beating Aminu Suleiman, who received 54 votes. Elder Ubolo Okpanachi received 42 votes, while Isaac Mohammed Alfa received 20.

As of the time of reporting this article, the senatorial primary in Kogi Central has not been completed.

According to NAN, Shaba Ibrahim has also chosen the Lokoja/Kogi federal house of representatives PDP ticket.

In the Kogi Central state House of Assembly primaries, Ovurevu Abara was elected in Adavi, Mohammed Haruna Ganaja in Ajaokuta, and Ajanaku Tijani Umar in Okene II State Constituency.

Prince Bode Ogunmola, a former Kogi PDP publicity secretary, was elected for Ogori-Magongo, while Onivehu Musa Siyaka was elected for Okehi state legislature.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *