Subscribe Now
Trending News

Blog Post


Nigerian Selection Committee Asking For Submissions Ahead of 96th Oscars Award 

Stephanie Linus was named the new head of Nigeria’s Oscars committee.

Nigerian filmmakers are urged to submit their feature films for the 96th Annual Academy Awards (Oscars) International Feature Film (IFF) category by the Nigerian Official Selection Committee (NOSC) for the Academy of Motion Pictures, Arts and Sciences (AMPAS).

The NOSC will select one movie as the nation’s official entry for the IFF Award, with formal recognition from the AMPAS. The Academy gives the IFF Award every year to a full-length motion picture made outside of the US that has at least 50% of its dialogue in a language or languages other than English.

The NOSC website provides details on the additional requirements that films submitted to the Academy Awards must meet, such as accurate, readable English language subtitles, shooting formats, and theatrical releases.

The newly appointed chairperson of NOSCStephanie Linus, said, “I am honoured to take on the esteemed role of NOSC Chairperson for the Oscar Awards. I look forward to working closely with my committee members on our shared vision of promoting African filmmakers on a global platform. We now have a unique opportunity to honour the exceptional storytellers and talents whose works have entertained and connected us in many ways. I hope the decisions we make in the days ahead will inspire the next generation of filmmakers.”

The NOSC portal is open for submissions from August 28, 2023, to September 15, 2023. The 96th Oscars will take place next year on Sunday, March 10, 2024. The show will air live in more than 200 territories worldwide from the Dolby Theatre at Ovation Hollywood, Los Angeles, California, United States.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *