Subscribe Now
Trending News

Blog Post

INEC Drops List Of Final Candidates For Bayelsa, Imo, Kogi Governorship Elections

INEC Drops List Of Final Candidates For Bayelsa, Imo, Kogi Governorship Elections 

18 political parties fielded candidates in Kogi, while 17 parties fielded candidates in Imo and 16 in Bayelsa.

News Agency of Nigeria

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the final list of candidates for the November 11 governorship election in Bayelsa, Imo, and Kogi.

Those listed for the Bayelsa poll included Governor Diri Duoye (PDP), Chief Sylva Timipre (APC), Eradiri Udengmobofa (LP), Osuluku Binalatefa (SDP), and Ogege Mercy (APP).

The candidates for Kogi were Leke Abejide (ADC), Dino Melaye (PDP), Ahmed Ododo (APC), and Suleiman Fati (ZLP).

Those listed for the Imo poll included Governor Hope Uzodinmma (APC), Ayanwu Samuel (PDP), Odunzeh Ben (NNPP), and Achony Nneji (LP).

Festus Okoye, the INEC National Commissioner and Information and Voter Education Committee said in a statement in Abuja that the commission approved the list at its regular meeting on Tuesday.

Okoye said that the decision was in line with the provision of Section 32(1) of the Electoral Act 2022.

He said that the section required the list’s publication not later than 150 days to election day, that is, Friday, June 9, following the period for voluntary withdrawal and substitution of candidates by political parties under Section 31 of the Electoral Act 2022.

“The final list has been uploaded to the commission’s website and social media platforms.

“Same will be published in our State and Local Government offices in the affected States on Thursday June 8 ahead of the statutory deadline of June 9,” Okoye said.

The list showed that all 18 political parties fielded candidates for the Kogi poll, while 17 parties fielded candidates for Imo and 16 parties in Bayelsa.

The list also showed that two political parties fielded female candidates for the Bayelsa poll, while only one party fielded a female candidate for the Kogi poll.

Okoye reminded political parties and their candidates that in line with the timetable and schedule of activities for the election, the campaign in public would officially commence on Wednesday, June 14, in line with Section 94(1) of the Electoral Act 2022 and end on November 9, 24 hours before election day.

“We urge parties and candidates to conduct their political activities with civility and decorum as peaceful electioneering heralds a peaceful election.

“Political parties and candidates have a responsibility to de-escalate tension, ahead of the election,” Okoye said.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *